‘Her,’ ‘Captain Phillips’ win Writers Guild honors

02/04/2014 4:29 pm0 commentsViews: 8
Tom Hanks stars in ‘Captain Phillips,’ the story of a ship hijacked by Somali pirates. It received a Writers Guild of America award for best adapted screenplay Saturday.

Tom Hanks stars in ‘Captain Phillips,’ the story of a ship hijacked by Somali pirates. It received a Writers Guild of America award for best adapted screenplay Saturday.

‘Her,’ ‘Captain Phillips’ win Writers Guild honors


From City News Service

Surprise endings were part of the film plot Saturday night at the 66th annual Writers Guild of America Awards presented during simultaneous ceremonies in New York and Los Angeles’ J.W. Marriott at L.A.


Beating out more-publicized competitors, “Her” creator Spike Jonze won the Best Original Screenplay award, and “Captain Phillips” writer Billy Ray received the Best Adapted Screenplay honor.

Jonze was selected from a field that featured screenwriters Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell of  “American Hustle;” Woody Allen of  “Blue Jasmine;” Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack of “Dallas Buyers Club;” and Bob Nelson of “Nebraska.”

Ray finished ahead of writers Tracy Letts of “August: Osage County;” Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke of “Before Midnight;” Peter Berg of “Lone Survivor” and Terence Winter of “The Wolf of Wall Street.”

Among television programs, “Breaking Bad” continues its final speed run through the awards season with wins in the Best Dramas Series and Best Episodic Drama (“Confessions”) categories.

The stable of writers penning the HBO show “Veep” won for Best Comedy Series.

Comedian Brad Garrett hosted the Los Angeles ceremony.

The event included comic/director Mel Brooks presenting the Screen Laurel lifetime achievement award to Paul Mazursky. Actor Henry Winkler gave the Television Laurel lifetime achievement award to Garry Marshall and Jennifer Tilly handed the Valentine Davies Award to producer/director Sam Simon.

Thomas C. Cook, the screenwriter behind “The China Syndrome,” was posthumously honored with the Morgan Cox Award for Guild Service.

“Stories We Tell” by Sarah Polley won the award for movie documentary.

Other television winners included:

• New series — “House of Cards,” written by Kate Barnow, Rick Cleveland, Sam R. Forman, Gina Gionfriddo, Keith Huff, Sarah Treem and Beau Willimon; on Netflix.

• Episodic drama — “Confessions” (“Breaking Bad”), written by Gennifer Hutchison; for AMC.

• Episodic comedy — “Hogcock!” (“30 Rock”), written by Jack Burditt & Robert Carlock; for NBC.

• Long form, adapted — “Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight,” written by Shawn Slovo, based on the book by Howard Bingham and Max Wallace; for HBO.

• Short form, new media, original — “Episode 4: The Collected Sylvia” (Sylvia Plath: Girl Detective),

eritten by Mike Simses; for sylviaplathgirldetective.com.

• Animation — “A Test Before Trying” (“The Simpsons”), written by Joel H. Cohen; for Fox.

• Comedy-variety (including talk) series — “The Colbert Report,” writers: Stephen Colbert, Tom Purcell,

Michael Brumm, Nate Charny, Rich Dahm, Paul Dinello, Eric Drysdale, Rob Dubbin, Glenn Eichler, Dan Guterman,  Barry Julien, Jay Katsir, Frank Lesser, Opus Moreschi, Bobby Mort, Meredith Scardino, Max Werner; for Comedy Central.

• Comedy-variety-music (awards, tributes or specials) — “Blake Shelton’s Not So Family Christmas,” head writers: Jay Martel, Ian Roberts; Writers: Alex Rubens, Charlie Sanders; for NBC.

• Quiz and audience participation — “Jeopardy!,” written by John Duarte, Harry Friedman, Mark Gaberman, Debbie Griffin, Michele Loud, Robert McClenaghan, Steve D. Tamerius, Billy Wisse; for ABC.

• Daytime drama — “Days of Our Lives,” written by Lorraine Broderick, David Cherrill, Carolyn Culliton, Richard Culliton, Rick Draughon, Christopher Dunn, Janet Iacobuzio, David A. Levinson, Ryan Quan, Dave Ryan, Melissa Salmons, Christopher J. Whitesell; for NBC.

• Children’s (episodic and specials) — “influANTces” (“A.N.T. Farm”), written by Vincent Brown; Nickelodeon.

• Documentary (current events) — “Egypt in Crisis” (“Frontline”), written by Marcela Gaviria and

Martin Smith; for PBS.

• Documentary (other than current events) — “The Choice 2012” (“Frontline”), written by Michael Kirk; for PBS.

• News (regularly scheduled, bulletin or breaking news) — “Tragedy at Newtown,” Special Edition (“ABC World News with Diane Sawyer”), written by Lisa Ferri and Matt Negrin; for ABC.

• News (analysis, feature or commentary) — “Lethal Medicine” (“60 Minutes”, written by Michael Rey, Oriana Zill de Granados and Michael Radutzky; for CBS.

Radio winner included:

• Documentary — “2012 Year in Review,” written by Gail Lee; for CBS Radio News.

• News (regularly scheduled, bulletin or breaking news) — “Afternoon Drive,” written by Bill Spadaro; CBS Radio, 1010 WINS.

• And News (analysis, feature or commentary) — “Remembering C. Everett Koop,” written by Scott Saloway; for CBS Radio News

Promotion writing and graphic animation winners included:

• On-air promotion (television, new media or radio) — “The Crazy Ones – Building a Better Comedy,” written by Erial Tompkins; for CBS.

• Television graphic art and animation — CBS News Animations: Brain Injury, Pills, Bionic Leg, Midland Parade, Concordia Salvage; animation by David Rosen; CBS News.

• Video gams — “The Last of Us,” written by Neil Druckmann.




Leave a Reply