Entertainment Hollywood Local News

Hollywood Film Awards mark start of award season

BEVERLY HILLS — Hollywood’s award season began Nov. 1 with the presentation of the 19th annual Hollywood Film Awards at the Beverly Hilton, honoring films and performers including Robert De Niro, Will Smith, Jane Fonda, Carey Mulligan and Benicio Del Toro.

Late-night talk show host James Corden hosted the event, which featured a list of presenters including Steve Carell, Vin Diesel, Ryan Gosling, Jake Gyllenhaal, Ice Cube, Amy Poehler, Mark Ruffalo, David O. Russell, Kurt Russell and Reese Witherspoon.

Smith received the Hollywood Actor Award for his performance in the upcoming film “Concussion,” while Mulligan took home the Hollywood Actress Award for “Suffragette.” Del Toro was honored with the Supporting Actor Award for “Sicario,” and Fonda got the Supporting Actress honor for “Youth.”

De Niro received a Career Achievement Award, while Ridley Scott was honored with a producing award for “The Martian” and Tom Hooper grabbed the directing honor for “The Danish Girl.”

Tarantino, who came under fire recently from the Los Angeles Police Department and other law enforcement agencies for his comments at an anti-police-brutality rally in New York, was given the Hollywood Ensemble Award.

Other award winners included: Joel Edgerton, Hollywood Breakout Actor Award for “Black Mass; Saoirse Ronan, New Hollywood Award for “Brooklyn;” Alicia Vikander, Hollywood Breakout Actress Award for “The Danish Girl;” “The Hateful Eight,” Hollywood Ensemble Award; the cast of “Straight Outta Compton:” Corey Hawkins, O’Shea Jackson Jr. Jason Mitchell, Hollywood Breakout Ensemble Award; and Amy Schumer, Hollywood Comedy Award for “Trainwreck.”

More winners were: Adam McKay, Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award for “The Big Short;” Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, Hollywood Screenwriter Award for “Spotlight;” “Furious 7,” Hollywood Blockbuster Award; Wiz Khalifa and Charlie Puth, Hollywood Song Award for their hit “See You Again” from the “Furious 7” soundtrack; Asif Kapadia, Hollywood Documentary Award for “Amy;” “Inside Out,” Hollywood Animation Award; Janusz Kaminski, Hollywood Cinematography Award for “Bridge of Spies;” and Alexandre Desplat, Hollywood Film Composer Award for “The Danish Girl” and “Suffragette.”

Still more winners included: David Rosenbloom, Hollywood Editor Award for “Black Mass;” Tim Alexander, Hollywood Visual Effects Award for “Jurassic World;” Gary Rydstrom, Hollywood Sound Award for “Bridge of Spies;” Sandy Powell, Hollywood Costume Design Award for “Cinderella;” Lesley Vanderwalt, Hollywood Make-Up andHair Styling Award for “Mad Max: Fury Road;” and Colin Gibson, Hollywood Production Design Award for “Mad Max: Fury Road.”



Leave a Reply