‘Jurassic World’ breaks box office records in opening week

By Frank Pallotta


NEW YORK — It’s official: “Jurassic World” is a monster.

With revised final numbers on Monday, the Universal film beat the previous record — the “The Avengers” $207.4 million opening in 2012 — for highest-grossing box office opening weekend in U.S. history with a $208.8 million gross.

This “Jurassic World” record-breaking number was revised up from the earlier estimates of $204.5 million on Sunday.

The final box office totals in international markets hit $315.3 million, making it the largest opening abroad ever.

The total beat the prior record of $314 million that was held by 2011’s “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2.”

Overall, Universal’s “Jurassic World” pulled in the biggest global box office weekend with a historic $524.1 million around the world.

“Pulling off the ultimate weekend box office trifecta of top opening weekends globally, internationally [which excludes North America] and of course in North America make this the stuff of legend,” said Paul Dergarabedian, a senior media analyst for Rentrak.

“And no one saw this coming.”

Estimates for “World” kept getting bigger as positive word of mouth grew for the film. Audiences gave the film a CinemaScore rating of “A.”

The studio behind the blockbuster, Universal, also broke some records of its own this weekend by already passing the $1 billion mark at the domestic box office for 2015.

This is the fastest a studio has ever crossed the mark, beating out previous record holder Paramount who achieved the goal on June 22 in 2008. It is also the fastest to break the $3 billion worldwide barrier overtaking 20th Century Fox who passed the mark on June 30, 2010.

The comedic spoof “Spy” finished a distant second with $15.6 million, followed by the disaster epic “San Andreas” with $10.8 million.

“Insidious Chapter 3” took fourth place with $7.3 million, while “Pitch Perfect 2” placed fifth with $6.4 million.

Rounding out the top 10 films of the weekend were “Entourage” ($4.2 million); “Mad Max: Fury Road” ($4 million); “Avengers: Age of Ultron” ($3.7 million); “Tomorrowland” ($3.5 million); and “Love & Mercy” ($1.7 million).


City News Service contributed to this story.



Leave a Reply